What are your favourite US power metal albums?

First Post July 26, 2021 11:16 AM

I prefer the US power metal movement rather than NWOBHM. The American power metal movement is slightly newer and fits well with both the American blood within me and trying to get my classic heavy metal close but not super close to the power metal I used to really enjoy. I believe the American movement started in 1984, right after the end of NWOBHM, then after nearly a decade of glory for the home of the brave, the movement started dying down with very few bands remaining and 1993 being the last year of its golden peak (though other metal genres that I like would be on the rise: https://metal.academy/forum/23/thread/861), with one band losing their most talented member, though most of that band's subsequent albums are fantastic as well, proving that their music is still alive. Anyway, below is my top 5 (I'm still new to this style), all in the middle of the era. Can't wait to see yours!

5. Virgin Steele - Age of Consent (1988)

4. Sanctuary - Refuge Denied (1987)

3. Savatage - Hall of the Mountain King (1987)

2. Crimson Glory - Transcendence (1988)

1. Riot - Thundersteel (1988)

July 26, 2021 12:13 PM

Here the link to my top ten US power metal releases of all time:

https://metal.academy/lists/single/127

01. Crimson Glory - "Crimson Glory" (1986)

02. Iced Earth - "Alive In Athens" (1999)

03. Manowar - "Into Glory Ride" (1983)

04. Medieval Steel - "Medieval Steel" E.P. (1984)

05. Crimson Glory - "Transcendence" (1988)

06. Queensryche - "The Warning" (1984)

07. Riot - "ThunderSteel" (1988)

08. Fates Warning - "The Spectre Within" (1985)

09. Griffin - "Flight Of The Griffin" (1984)

10. Queensryche - "Queensryche" E.P. (1983)

July 26, 2021 02:39 PM