How did you first encounter this music? - The Guardians Edition

First Post May 25, 2019 08:46 PM

Tell us about your first encounters with the Heavy Metal, Neoclassical Metal, Power Metal & Symphonic Metal subgenres. How did you lose your Guardians virginity?

August 30, 2019 09:20 PM

HEAVY METAL - Thinking back I've come to the decision that my first experience with genuine heavy metal would have been through the music video for Motorhead's "Ace Of Spades" in the very early 1980's. I was immediately attracted to the speed & intensity even though I was only so young so I guess you're born with it.

NEOCLASSICAL METAL - I started playing guitar in 1988 & very quickly became obsessed with finding progressively more technically proficient examples of lead guitar technique. The first example of neoclassical guitar playing I encountered was Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force's "Heaven Tonight" single which quickly led me to their "Odyssey" album. Possibly more of a heavy metal record overall but the same can't be said for their "Rising Force" debut which I picked up a short time later.

POWER METAL - I'm pretty sure this was through tracks from Helloween's "Keeper of the Seven Keys Part II" which were being played on underground metal radio in the late 80's I didn't like it much at the time & I still don't although I would find the US variety of power metal much more easily palatable in the near future.

SYMPHONIC METAL - I think this might have been through X Japan's "Art Of Life" E.P. through tape trading with a Japanese trader in the mid-90's. Another release that didn't do much for me & the whole symphonic metal subgenre has been something that I've always struggled with since too.

August 31, 2019 08:05 AM

There was one band that got me into power metal and eventually symphonic metal, the band that made me become a metalhead, one band to start it all, my taste in metal.... DragonForce! More info about my encounter in my "Introduce Yourself" post.