May 2020 Feature Release - The Revolution Edition

First Post April 30, 2020 11:19 PM

It's now May which of course means that we'll be nominating a brand new monthly feature release for each clan. This essentially means that we're asking you to rate, review & discuss our chosen features for no other reason than because we enjoy the process & banter.     

This month's feature release for The Revolution is 2014's third album from Swedish trance metal outfit Amaranthe  entitled "Massive Addictive". It's one of the more well-known & highly celebrated releases for the trance metal subgenre & we'd like to hear your thoughts on it.

May 01, 2020 11:28 PM

I just did my review. Here's a summary of it:

Love them or hate them, Amaranthe is one of the most diverse Swedish metal bands, and not totally in the progressive sense. I'm one of those people who love the band, and I've been listening to them for 3 years now. They sure know how to trance-ify melodeath and power metal, and have toured all over Europe and America. Many metal purists accuse them of "ruining metal", but really they just wanna help bring metal and harsh vocals to the masses, no matter the mainstream cost. And even though this album isn't as perfect as their previous two albums, Massive Addictive can be hailed a successful breakthrough in trance metal! The album is both heavier and trance-ier than the previous two, with some songs having more metal than trance and vice versa. A few of the more electronic songs are a dreadful foreshadowing of the overpowering trance infecting their later albums, but the songs I love the best in the album are when the trance and metal are in perfect balance. There are also two or three clean-sung ballads. Oh yeah, we can't forget the unique vocal trio of new harsh vocalist Henrik Englund, the power metal-esque Jake E. Lundberg, and the angelic Elize Ryd. Overall, Massive Addictive is a strong album, though not as perfectly strong as their previous two albums, and Amaranthe c