October 2020 Feature Release - The Pit Edition

First Post September 30, 2020 09:55 PM

It's now October which of course means that we'll be nominating a brand new monthly feature release for each clan. This essentially means that we're asking you to rate, review & discuss our chosen features for no other reason than because we enjoy the process & banter. We're really looking forward to hearing your thoughts on our chosen releases so don't be shy.

This month's feature release for The Pit is 1985's classic debut album from New Jersey thrash metal outfit Overkill entitled "Feel The Fire".

https://metal.academy/releases/1613

October 03, 2020 03:36 AM

Okay, so I'm a noob who never experienced the thrash metal wave that took over the scene during the 1980s. What was the initial reaction to Overkill's debut record, Feel the Fire in comparison to...Metallica or Megadeth? Why do Overkill get so heavily overlooked? Would they have been in "The Big Five" if such a thing existed? Perhaps someone like Sonny would be able to provide me with some much needed context.

As for the record itself, I was not at all impressed by the debut LP. I'll keep my review brief, but this record feels really sloppy, both in the production, as well as in the overall performance. Overkill would redeem themselves substantially with Taking Over and The Years of Decay in the following years. If Overkill were in fact overlooked during the eighties, it was probably because of this album. You only have one chance to make a good first impression I guess.

6/10

October 03, 2020 01:03 PM